Ice Storm Aftermath: Do you Qualify for $50 or $100 in FREE Grocery Cards for Lost Food?


Photo: Wild day in Waterloo but got the neighbours out for a group effort with bow saws & axes to get 'er done!

Did you lose power for at least 48 hours during the Christmas ice storm power outage last month? Do you need financial assistance to replace your lost food?

If you answered yes to these two questions, you may be eligible for grocery gift cards.  The process is being streamlined and made as simple as possible following last week’s debacle in distributing cards in Toronto. All requests are being handled over the phone this time to avoid long, unruly line ups and if you do qualify, your gift cards will be conveniently mailed out.


Residents of Waterloo Region or Wellington County may be eligible for one of the grocery cards being given out by those municipalities. The first round of cards was distributed to affected Toronto residents last week are intended to help people who lost food during the power outage and don’t have the financial ability to replace it.

Waterloo Region residents– call 519-883-2100 between Tuesday January 7th and Thursday January 9th  and select option 1 to apply for the program.

Includes residents of Kitchener, Cambridge and Waterloo as well as everyone living in the townships of Wellesley, Woolwich, Wilmot and North Dumfries.

Wellington County residents – apply by calling 519-837-2670 ext. 4794 between Tuesday January 7th and Thursday January 9th.

Towns of Fergus, Elora, Mount Forest Orangeville and all places located in the following townships: Arthur, Eramosa, Erin, West Garafaxa, Guelph Township, West Luther, Maryborough, Minto, Nichol, Peel, Pilkington, Puslinch,

The cards are being funded through a joint initiative between the province, Ontario’s corporate sector, unions and associations.


What is available?

$50 for single person or $100 for a family.   A total of $450,000 worth of grocery cards is being made available to residents in Waterloo Region, Wellington County, Hamilton, Dufferin and Northumberland counties and the Durham, Halton, Peel and York regions.

Read more by clicking here: 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s